EXHIBITION Pierre BONNARD : Peindre l’Arcadie (Painting Arcadia)

This post is also available in: French

Pierre Bonnard, 'Nu dans le bain' (huile sur toile), 1936 / Photo : © Eric Emo / Musée d'Art Moderne / Roger-Viollet

Pierre Bonnard, ‘Nu dans le bain’ (huile sur toile), 1936 / Photo : © Eric Emo / Musée d’Art Moderne / Roger-Viollet

Until 20th july 2015 at Musée d’Orsay, Paris

The exhibition Peindre l’Arcadie at the Musée d’Orsay presents the sensitive and colourful work by artist Pierre Bonnard (1867-1947). This enchanting retrospective brings together exceptional pieces coming from London and New York, some of which belong to private collections. To the delight of the viewer, the intimate themes, dear to the artist, such as portraits, bathroom or garden scenes are unveiled with virtuosity.

 

Japonisme

Pierre Bonnard belongs to a generation, which has succeeded the Impressionist ideal. His first paintings are of Japanese influence. In 1890, Bonnard discovers Japanese prints at the Ecole des Beaux Arts exhibition and develops a passion, which subsequently influenced his artistic production for the next ten years: shallow perspective, pattern multiplication and a synthetic vision will feature throughout his career.

Pierre Bonnard, Femmes au jardin, 4 panneaux. 1890-1891

Pierre Bonnard, Femmes au jardin, 4 panneaux. 1890-1891

 

Intimacy

Pierre Bonnard, Nu dans un intérieur. Courtesy National Gallery of Art, Washington. © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Pierre Bonnard, Nu dans un intérieur. Courtesy National Gallery of Art, Washington. © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Right from the start of his career, Bonnard insisted to be regarded as a decorative artist. Like his friend, the painter Edouard Vuillard, his interior scenes do not relate anything remarkable. Bonnard dislikes ostentatious subjects, as frequently used by the Academy, and lets his unique and sensitive gaze on the world wander around him, trying to capture ephemeral moments. The recurring occurrence of themes and models guides us into the painter’s intimacy. The forever-young body of his wife Martha inhabits most of his paintings. A tender and poetic dialogue forms between his works across those connecting repetitions.

 

Colour

For Pierre Bonnard, the colour and its vibration can express everything. “It appeared to me that it was possible to bring light, form and character, just with colour”. The artist’s palette is relatively limited, yet his combinations of different colour-tones are infinite. In June 1908, Bonnard made his first extended stay on the French Riviera. This ‘visual choc’ had a great impact on his work and enriched his palette. “In the Mediterranean light everything becomes clear”.

Pierre Bonnard, "Grande salle à manger sur le jardin", 1934-1935, New York, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, don de Solomon R. Guggenheim © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY, dist RMN-Grand Palais / The Solomon Guggenheim © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Pierre Bonnard, “Grande salle à manger sur le jardin”, 1934-1935, New York, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, don de Solomon R. Guggenheim © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY, dist RMN-Grand Palais / The Solomon Guggenheim © ADAGP, Paris 2015

 

The retrospective of the Musée d’Orsay takes us on a magical journey to the heart of the intimate. Pierre Bonnard ‘simply’ seeks to express something personal, yet his singular view exalts the world around him.

 

 

Musée d’Orsay

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

2 Comments

  1. vape Shop Malaysia   •  

    Great blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like
    yours these days. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  2. Sven   •  

    I am in fact delighted to read this website posts which includes lots of useful facts,
    thanks for providing these information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EXPOSITION Pierre BONNARD : Peindre l’Arcadie

This post is also available in: Anglais

Pierre Bonnard, 'Nu dans le bain' (huile sur toile), 1936 / Photo : © Eric Emo / Musée d'Art Moderne / Roger-Viollet

Pierre Bonnard, ‘Nu dans le bain’ (huile sur toile), 1936 / Photo : © Eric Emo / Musée d’Art Moderne / Roger-Viollet

Jusqu’au 20 juillet 2015 au Musée d’Orsay, Paris

L’exposition du Musée d’Orsay, Peindre l’Arcadie, fait la part belle à l’œuvre sensible et colorée de l’artiste Pierre Bonnard (1867-1947). Cette rétrospective enchanteresse rassemble, à titre exceptionnel, des œuvres provenant notamment de Londres ou de New York et dont certaines appartiennent à des collections privées. Pour le plus grand bonheur du spectateur, les thèmes intimistes chers au peintre, tels que le portrait, la toilette ou les jardins sont dévoilés avec virtuosité.

 

Le Japonisme

Pierre Bonnard succède aux impressionnistes. Les premières toiles de l’artiste sont d’influence japonisante. Sa passion pour les estampes japonaises, qu’il découvre lors d’une exposition à l’Ecole des Beaux Arts en 1890, marquera la production artistique des dix années à suivre. La perspective sans profondeur, la multiplication des motifs et une vision synthétique perdureront durant toute sa carrière artistique.

Pierre Bonnard, Femmes au jardin, 4 panneaux. 1890-1891

Pierre Bonnard, Femmes au jardin, 4 panneaux. 1890-1891

 

L’intime

Pierre Bonnard, Nu dans un intérieur. Courtesy National Gallery of Art, Washington. © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Pierre Bonnard, Nu dans un intérieur. Courtesy National Gallery of Art, Washington. © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Dés les premières œuvres, l’artiste nabi se revendique comme un peintre décoratif. A l’instar de son ami, peintre, Edouard Vuillard, ses vues d’intérieur ne relatent aucun fait remarquable. Ennemi des sujets pompeux de l’académie, Bonnard balade son regard singulier et sensible sur le monde qui l’entoure, essayant de capter l’éphémère et de fixer l’instant. La récurrence des thèmes et des modèles nous plonge dans l’intimité du peintre. Le corps éternellement jeune de Marthe, sa femme, s’épanouira dans les nombreuses peintures de l’artiste. Un dialogue, où la poésie et la tendresse s’expriment, s’établie entre les toiles.

 

La couleur

Pour Pierre Bonnard, la couleur et sa vibration peuvent exprimer toute chose. « Il m’apparut qu’il était possible de traduire la lumière, la forme et le caractère, rien qu’avec la couleur. » La palette employée par le peintre est relativement limitée, pourtant les associations de tons colorés et les résultats picturaux sont infinis. En juin 1908, Bonnard effectue son premier long séjour sur la Côte d’Azur. C’est le choc visuel de la chaleur et des radiations. L’éclat des fruits et les vibrations intenses de la Méditerranée l’interpellent. Cette expérience sensorielle enrichie sa palette.             « Dans la lumière du midi tout s’éclaire ».

Pierre Bonnard, "Grande salle à manger sur le jardin", 1934-1935, New York, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, don de Solomon R. Guggenheim © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY, dist RMN-Grand Palais / The Solomon Guggenheim © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Pierre Bonnard, “Grande salle à manger sur le jardin”, 1934-1935, New York, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, don de Solomon R. Guggenheim © The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation / Art Resource, NY, dist RMN-Grand Palais / The Solomon Guggenheim © ADAGP, Paris 2015

 

La rétrospective du musée d’Orsay nous plonge dans un voyage féérique au cœur de l’intime. Pierre Bonnard cherche simplement à exprimer quelque chose de personnel et déjà son regard singulier magnifie le monde qui l’entoure.

 

 

Musée d’Orsay

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest1Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

3 Comments

  1. Emilie   •  

    super article, ça donne très envie d’aller voir l’expo lors du prochain week end à Paris!!

  2. Sonia   •  

    Merci pour cet article très instructif, qui dépeint l’œuvre de Bonnard avec beaucoup de sensibilité. C’est avec grand plaisir que l’on découvre l’univers enchanteur de l’artiste, en attendant avec impatience de se rendre à la rétrospective qui lui est consacrée 🙂 !

  3. Rym   •  

    Super article très instructif, donnant des bases de compréhension pour les no vice tel que moi.
    L’inspiration japonisante de Bonnard me donne très envie de voir l’expo et de découvrir l’étendue du travail de cet artiste!
    merci 😀

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *