Miquel BARCELÓ : Sol y sombra

Miquel Barcelo portrait, source ABC.es

Until 28th August 2016 at the François Miterrand Library (BNF)

Soon to turn 60, Miquel Barceló is still bursting with energy. He is currently inaugurating two major exhibitions in Paris, at the National Library of France (BNF) and at the Picasso Museum (Musée Picasso). The Catalan artist has built an abundant body of work drawing inspiration from sources going back to prehistoric cave painting, and all the way forward to great Masters such as Goya, Picasso or Kiefer. Continue reading…

DRAWING NOW

Du 30 mars au 3 avril au Carreau du Temple

Annette BARCELO, Galerie Anne de Villepoix

Annette BARCELO, Galerie Anne de Villepoix

 

Drawing Now, le salon du dessin contemporain, souffle sereinement sa dixième bougie et nous enchante par sa diversité, savant alliage de valeurs sûres et d’artistes émergents. On remarque dès l’entrée le bel hommage de la galerie Bernard Ceysson à Claude Viallat, Continue reading…

PICASSO. SCULPTURES

 At the Musée national Picasso-Paris until 28th August 2016

Picasso. Sculpture. Musée Picasso Paris, 2016

Picasso. Sculpture. Musée Picasso Paris, 2016

 

The King of artists and his wonderful reservoir of shapes are without limits. Indeed, so numerous are Picasso’s creations, that the eponymous museum is already renewing its display, dedicating the ground and first floor to its current exhibition titled “Picasso. Sculptures”.

Continue reading…

CERAMIX : from Rodin to Schütte

At La maison rouge until 5th June 2016

DSC_8790-1024x706

In partnership with Sèvres-Cité de la céramique and the Bonnefanten Museum of Maastricht, La maison rouge offers us a delightful immersion into the heart of ceramic. Far from being a foreign material to the Director of the Foundation, Antoine de Galbert keeps in his private collection many earthenware pieces. Shary Boyle and Johan Creten are among the Continue reading…

Daido MORIYAMA : Daido Tokyo

Exhibition at the Cartier Foundation for contemporary art until 5th June 2016

Daido Moriyama, Tokyo Color (2008-2015) Photo: Courtesy of the artist / Daido Moriyama Photo Foundation, via Fondation Cartier

Daido Moriyama, Tokyo Color (2008-2015)
Photo: Courtesy of the artist / Daido Moriyama Photo Foundation, via Fondation Cartier

 

Photographer Daido Moriyama (born in 1938) takes us along on his tour through Japan, sharing his fascination with the untameable city that is Tokyo. Camera-in-hand he wanders, since the late 90s, the narrow streets of the frenetic neighbourhood called Shinjuku. Daido Moriyama grabs, without filter and from Continue reading…

Jean-Michel ALBEROLA : The adventure of details

Exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo until 16th May 2016

Jean-Michel Alberola, Reprendre la conversation, 2005. Courtesy ADAGP, Paris 2016

Jean-Michel Alberola, Reprendre la conversation, 2005. Courtesy ADAGP, Paris 2016

 

Spring is coming early this year at the Palais de Tokyo, where multiple new shows are blossoming. Stéphane Calais’ floral, new black and white piece spreads luxuriously on the walls of level 2, whilst the duo of brothers Florian & Michael Quistrebert is captivating our senses, combining painting, video and light. Further away Continue reading…

Richard SERRA : Ramble Drawings

Installation view

Exhibition at Gagosian gallery until 2nd April 2016

Best known for his monumental sculptures made of steel, Richard Serra (born 1938) delights us this time with a series of abstract drawings titled:  “Rambles”. Yet the practice of drawing is nothing new in the work of the American artist who religiously devotes a few hours each morning to practicing.

Continue reading…

Vidya GASTALDON: Hello from the Other Side

Exhibition at Art : Concept gallery until 12th March 2016

Vidya GASTALDON. Healing Painting (Désastre mauve), 2016, huile sur tableau trouvé, 50 x 60 cm. photo : Claire Dorn / courtesy Art : Concept, Paris

Vidya GASTALDON. Healing Painting (Désastre mauve), 2016, huile sur tableau trouvé, 50 x 60 cm. photo : Claire Dorn / courtesy Art : Concept, Paris

 

Art: Concept gallery presents in its recently opened space, passage Sainte Avoye, new works of artist Vidya Gastaldon, born in 1974. ‘Hello From the Other Side’ is a pop culture reference to the song by British singer Adele, who is a regular at the top of the ‘charts’.

Continue reading…

Gideon RUBIN : Questions of Forgiveness

Exhibition until 5th March 2016 at Karsten Greve Gallery

Gideon Rubin, On the Bed 2015. Huile sur lin / Oil on linen. 102 x 122 cm. Credit photo Courtesy Galerie Karsten Greve, Köln, Paris, St Moritz.

Gideon Rubin, On the Bed 2015. Huile sur lin / Oil on linen. 102 x 122 cm. Credit photo Courtesy Galerie Karsten Greve, Köln, Paris, St Moritz.

 

Karsten Greve Gallery presents recent works by artist Gideon Rubin, born in Tel Aviv in 1973. A series of enigmatic portraits depicting faceless characters or showing the back of their head embeds us into Continue reading…

Julien DES MONSTIERS: In the Shade of Meteorites

Exhibition At Christophe Gaillard gallery until 27th February 2016

Julien DES MONSTIERS Le Loup (d'après Oudry), 2015. Huile sur toile 170 x 150 cm. Crédit photo : Rebecca Fanuele

Julien DES MONSTIERS Le Loup (d’après Oudry), 2015. Huile sur toile 170 x 150 cm. Crédit photo : Rebecca Fanuele

 

Julien des Monstiers gives new life to the art of painting! This young artist – born in 1983 – mixes styles and shuffleboard. Going from figuration to abstraction with disconcerting ease, he draws inspiration from  Continue reading…

EXPO Miquel BARCELÓ : Sol y sombra

Miquel Barcelo portrait, source ABC.es

Jusqu’au 28 août 2016 à la BNF François Miterrand

A bientôt 60 ans,  Miquel Barceló regorge d’une belle énergie. Il inaugure en ce moment deux importantes expositions à Paris, à la Bibliothèque Nationale de France et au Musée Picasso. Boulimique de travail, il a construit une œuvre foisonnante mêlant des influences diverses, allant des représentations pariétales aux Grands Maîtres de la peinture toutes époques confondues. Poursuivre la lecture

DRAWING NOW

Du 30 mars au 3 avril au Carreau du Temple

Annette BARCELO, Galerie Anne de Villepoix

Annette BARCELO, Galerie Anne de Villepoix

 

Drawing Now, le salon du dessin contemporain, souffle sereinement sa dixième bougie et nous enchante par sa diversité, savant alliage de valeurs sûres et d’artistes émergents. On remarque dès l’entrée le bel hommage de la galerie Bernard Ceysson à Claude Viallat, Poursuivre la lecture

EXPO PICASSO. SCULPTURES

 Au Musée national Picasso-Paris jusqu’au 28 août 2016

Picasso. Sculpture. Musée Picasso Paris, 2016

Picasso. Sculpture. Musée Picasso Paris, 2016

 

Le réservoir de formes merveilleuses est inépuisable chez le roi Picasso. Aussi, le musée éponyme renouvelle déjà son accrochage, consacrant le rez-de chaussée et le premier étage à l’exposition « Picasso. Sculptures ». Prenant la suite de la rétrospective « Picasso Sculpture » présentée au Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) de New York, Poursuivre la lecture

EXPO CERAMIX : de Rodin à Schütte

A La maison rouge jusqu’au 5 juin 2016

Elmar Trenkwalder, ‘WVZ 206’, 2008. Exposition Ceramix à La maison rouge, 2016. Marc Domage.

Elmar Trenkwalder, ‘WVZ 206’, 2008. Exposition Ceramix à La maison rouge, 2016. Marc Domage.

Une exposition en partenariat avec Sèvres-Cité de la céramique et le Bonnefanten Museum de Maastricht

La maison rouge nous offre ici une réjouissante plongée au cœur de la céramique. Un matériau loin d’être étranger au directeur de la fondation puisqu’ Antoine de Galbert possède dans sa collection de nombreuses pièces en terre cuite. Shary Boyle et Johan Creten sont d’ailleurs parmi Poursuivre la lecture

Daido MORIYAMA : Daido Tokyo

Exposition à la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain jusqu’au 5 juin 2016

Daido Moriyama, Tokyo Color (2008-2015) Photo: Courtesy of the artist / Daido Moriyama Photo Foundation, via Fondation Cartier

Daido Moriyama, Tokyo Color (2008-2015)
Photo: Courtesy of the artist / Daido Moriyama Photo Foundation, via Fondation Cartier

 

Le photographe Daido Moriyama (né en 1938) nous embarque au fil de ses tournées nippones, partageant ainsi sa fascination pour l’indomptable Tokyo. Il arpente caméra au poing depuis la fin des années 90, les étroites ruelles du quartier frénétique de Shinjuku. Daido Moriyama saisit sans filtre et sous tous Poursuivre la lecture

Jean-Michel ALBEROLA : L’aventure des détails

Exposition au Palais de Tokyo jusqu’au 16 mai 2016

Jean-Michel Alberola, Reprendre la conversation, 2005. Courtesy ADAGP, Paris 2016

Jean-Michel Alberola, Reprendre la conversation, 2005. Courtesy ADAGP, Paris 2016

 

Le printemps est en avance au Palais de Tokyo, qui fleurit de ses nouvelles expositions. La fresque du Parisien Stéphane Calais, savoureusement graphique et florale, prolifère en noir et blanc sur les murs du niveau 2. Plus loin, le duo des frères Florian & Michael Quistrebert captive nos sens, mêlant peinture, vidéo et lumière. Tandis qu’au niveau 1, Poursuivre la lecture

Richard SERRA : Ramble Drawings

Richard Serra: "Ramble Drawings". Installation view, Gagosian, Paris. Photo credit: Zarko Vijatovic

Exposition à la galerie Gagosian jusqu’au 2 avril 2016

Essentiellement connu pour ses sculptures monumentales faites d’acier, Richard Serra (né en 1938) nous enchante cette fois-ci avec sa série de dessins abstraits : ‘Rambles’. Traduisez : promenades. La pratique du dessin n’est pourtant pas nouvelle dans l’œuvre de l’artiste américain qui y consacre religieusement plusieurs heures chaque matin. Poursuivre la lecture

Vidya GASTALDON : Hello from the Other Side

 Exposition à la galerie Art : Concept jusqu’au 12 mars 2016

Vidya GASTALDON. Healing Painting (Désastre mauve), 2016, huile sur tableau trouvé, 50 x 60 cm. photo : Claire Dorn / courtesy Art : Concept, Paris

Vidya GASTALDON. Healing Painting (Désastre mauve), 2016, huile sur tableau trouvé, 50 x 60 cm. photo : Claire Dorn / courtesy Art : Concept, Paris

 

La galerie Art : Concept présente dans son nouvel espace, passage Ste Avoye, les œuvres récentes de l’artiste Vidya Gastaldon, née en 1974. ‘Hello From the Other Side’ fait référence à la culture pop et au titre de la compositrice-chanteuse britannique Adèle – une habituée du haut des ‘charts’. Poursuivre la lecture

Gideon RUBIN : Questions of Forgiveness

Exposition jusqu’au 5 mars 2016 à la galerie Karsten Greve

Gideon Rubin, On the Bed 2015. Huile sur lin / Oil on linen. 102 x 122 cm. Credit photo Courtesy Galerie Karsten Greve, Köln, Paris, St Moritz.

Gideon Rubin, On the Bed 2015. Huile sur lin / Oil on linen. 102 x 122 cm. Credit photo Courtesy Galerie Karsten Greve, Köln, Paris, St Moritz.

 

La galerie Karsten Greve présente les œuvres récentes du peintre Gideon Rubin, né à Tel Aviv en 1973. Une série de portraits énigmatiques. Des personnages sans visage, ou de dos, nous transportent dans une atmosphère Poursuivre la lecture

EXPO. Julien DES MONSTIERS : A l’ombre des météorites

A la Galerie Christophe Gaillard jusqu’au 27 février 2016

Julien DES MONSTIERS Le Loup (d'après Oudry), 2015. Huile sur toile 170 x 150 cm. Crédit photo : Rebecca Fanuele

Julien DES MONSTIERS Le Loup (d’après Oudry), 2015. Huile sur toile 170 x 150 cm. Crédit photo : Rebecca Fanuele

 

Julien des Monstiers réveille la peinture ! Le jeune artiste, né en 1983, mélange les styles et brouille les pistes. Passant de la figuration à l’abstraction avec une aisance déconcertante, il puise son inspiration dans Poursuivre la lecture