Exhibition Maurice DENIS : During the Time of the Nabis

This post is also available in: French

Maurice DENIS, 'La Capeline rose' circa 1893. Photo credit courtesy galerie Malingue.

Maurice DENIS, picture detail of ‘La Capeline rose’ circa 1893. Photo credit courtesy galerie Malingue.

Until 10th July 2015 at galerie Malingue in Paris

The galerie Malingue presents an exciting exhibition pertaining to the first ten years (1888-1898) of the career of painter Maurice Denis (1870-1943). It was during this time of apprenticeship that the theorist and spokesman of the Nabi group – which counts among its prominent members Pierre Bonnard, Edouard Vuillard and Paul Sérusier – developed the main themes of his career.

 

Maurice DENIS, 'Le Martyr', 1893. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Maurice DENIS, ‘Le Martyr’, 1893. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

As demonstrated by the paintings ‘Easter Morning’ (circa 1892) and ‘The Martyr’ (1893), Maurice Denis shows a predilection for religious themes, which lead his friends to call him the” Nabi of the beautiful icons “. His synthesis and simplification of forms is reminiscent of the work of ‘primitive’ Italian painters, while the wavy lines echo the contemporary aesthetics of Art Nouveau.

 

 

The soft and bold colours radiating in Denis’ paintings – like in ‘Grey weather on the island (2) or The Evening’ (circa 1894) – reflect his personal feelings or state of mind rather than Nature. For Denis, it is important to ”remember that a picture, before being a horse battle, a nude woman, or some anecdote, is essentially a flat surface covered with colours assembled in a certain order. ” This statement made in 1890 is a true manifesto of Modern Art.

Maurice DENIS, 'Temps gris sur l'île (2)' ou 'Le Soir', circa 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Maurice DENIS, ‘Temps gris sur l’île (2)’ ou ‘Le Soir’, circa 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

 

Amongst the thirty paintings exhibited at the galerie Malingue, most of them belong to private collections and are therefore not for sale. This philanthropic project is mainly supported by the Friends of the Maurice Denis Society (La Société des Amis de Maurice Denis) and the exhibition catalogues are on sale to benefit the fight against cancer. Galerie Malingue

Maurice DENIS, 'Les pins à Loctudy', 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Maurice DENIS, ‘Les pins à Loctudy’, 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

 

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EXPOSITION Maurice DENIS : au Temps des Nabis

This post is also available in: Anglais

Maurice DENIS, picture detail of 'La Capeline rose' circa 1893. Photo credit courtesy galerie Malingue.

Maurice DENIS, picture detail of ‘La Capeline rose’ circa 1893. Photo credit courtesy galerie Malingue.

Jusqu’au 10 juillet 2015 à la galerie Malingue à Paris

La Galerie Malingue présente une émouvante exposition retraçant les dix premières années (1888-1898) de la carrière de l’artiste Maurice Denis (1870-1943). C’est lors de cette période d’apprentissage que le théoricien et porte-parole du groupe Nabi – qui compte parmi ses membres éminents Pierre Bonnard, Edouard Vuillard et Paul Sérusier – va mettre au point les thèmes forts de sa carrière.

 

Maurice DENIS, 'Le Martyr', 1893. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Maurice DENIS, ‘Le Martyr’, 1893. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Comme en témoignent les peintures ‘Matin de Pâques’ (vers 1892) et ‘Le Martyr’ (1893), Maurice Denis manifeste une prédilection pour les thèmes religieux, cela lui vaudra d’ailleurs le surnom de « Nabi aux belles icones ». La synthétisation et la simplification des formes rappellent parfois le travail des peintres ‘primitifs’ italiens tandis que les lignes onduleuses font écho à l’esthétique contemporaine de l’Art Nouveau.

Les couleurs douces et audacieuses qui irradient les toiles de Denis – comme dans ‘Temps gris sur l’île (2) ou Le Soir (vers 1894) – sont le reflet de ses sensations et de ses états d’âme plutôt que celui de la nature. Pour Denis il faut « se rappeler qu’un tableau, avant d’être un cheval de bataille, une femme nue ou une quelconque anecdote, est essentiellement une surface plane recouverte de couleurs en un certain ordre assemblé ». Cette déclaration faite en 1890 est un véritable manifeste de l’art moderne.

Maurice DENIS, 'Temps gris sur l'île (2)' ou 'Le Soir', circa 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Maurice DENIS, ‘Temps gris sur l’île (2)’ ou ‘Le Soir’, circa 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

 

La trentaine de peintures exposées à la galerie Malingue, qui sont pour la plupart issues de collections privées, ne sont pas à vendre. Ce beau projet de mécénat est notamment soutenu par la Société des Amis de Maurice Denis et le catalogue de l’exposition est en vente au profit de la lutte contre le cancer. Galerie Malingue

Maurice DENIS, 'Les pins à Loctudy', 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

Maurice DENIS, ‘Les pins à Loctudy’, 1894. Photo courtesy galerie Malingue, Paris.

 

Share on Facebook6Pin on Pinterest44Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *