EXHIBITION : JR : DECADE. Portrait of a generation

JR. Ballet dancers in containers

This post is also available in: French

Until 17th October 2015 at Galerie Perrotin

Once again, gallery owner Emmanuel Perrotin has chosen to unveil the much awaited exhibition of French artist JR to the sound of music. After Massive Attack, in 2011, it was the turn of rapper Mos Def to introduce, during the opening of the exhibition:DECADE. Portrait of a generation, the work of the 32 year-old French artist, known for his XXL photographic portraits, pasted on walls of cities around the world. A strong argument!
 
But let’s get inside the rue de Turenne mansion to immerse ourselves in the distinctive universe of the 2011 Ted Prize winner who wishes to “use art to transform the world.” His 5th exhibition at Galerie Perrotin is an opportunity for JR to revisit the last ten years of his artistic career.
 

JR « 28 Millimètres, Portrait d'une génération, B11, destruction #5, Montfermeil, France, 2013 » Color photograph, mat plexiglas, aluminum, wood 179 x 134 cm ©JR-ART.NET Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

JR.
“28 Millimètres, Portrait d’une génération, B11,
destruction #5, Montfermeil, France, 2013″
Color photograph, mat plexiglas, aluminum,
wood
179 x 134 cm
©JR-ART.NET
Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

From the first room on, the projections onto the ground immerse us in the cité des Bosquets, Clichy-Montfermeil, a Parisian district where JR grew up. This first work evokes the 2005 urban riots which were much discussed and whose images have been shown around the world.

This unrest spreading out of Parisian suburbs is also the subject of a 17 minute film produced and directed by JR, ten years after the events. The fiction inspired by real events is the result of a fruitful collaboration between dancer Lil ‘Buck, classical dancer Lauren Lovette and the dancers of the Paris National Opera (in a choreography created for the New York City ballet, NYCB).
 
The dance creates a link between the different themes recurring in the artist’s career, a poetic way to denounce while calming the consciences.
This great project, whose soundtrack is signed by Woodkid and Pharrel Williams, is presented in a loop in rue Saint-Claude’s gallery space as well as in Espace 93, in Clichy-sous-Bois on Wednesdays and Fridays of September.
 

JR. "28 Millimètres, Portrait d'une génération, Les Bosquets, Jeté cambré, Montfermeil, France, 2014 " Encre sur bois / Ink on wood. 228 x 366 cm ©JR-ART.NET Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

JR. “28 Millimètres, Portrait d’une génération, Les
Bosquets, Jeté cambré, Montfermeil,
France, 2014 “
Encre sur bois / Ink on wood. 228 x 366 cm
©JR-ART.NET
Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

The Ballet of the National Opera of Paris and the dancers of NYCB are also present on the recent photographic production of JR and on his ink wood works visible across the exhibition.

An exhibition, a film and also a book … Indeed, a monograph titled: JR: L’ART PEUT-IL CHANGER LE MONDE ? (JR: Can art change the world?) has recently been published by Phaidon press. The monograph is accompanied by a graphic novel by Joseph Remnant and a text by Nato Thompson, and is available at Galerie Perrotin’s book shop.
 
Bringing together art and life, a bet once again managed successfully by JR!
 

Infos pratiques

Galerie Perrotin

Address : 76, rue de Turenne, 75003 PARIS & 10 impasse Saint Claude, 75003 Paris (metro Saint-Sebastien – Froissart, line 8)

Opening times : Tuesdays to Saturdays 11h – 19h

Free entry

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

JR : DECADE. Portrait d’une génération

JR. "Ballet dancers in containers", Le Havre, France, 2014". Color photograph, mat plexiglas, aluminum, wood 125 x 187 cm ©JR-ART.NET Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

This post is also available in: Anglais

Jusqu’au 17 octobre 2015 à la galerie Perrotin

C’est une nouvelle fois en musique que le galeriste Emmanuel Perrotin a choisi de dévoiler l’exposition, très attendue, de l’artiste JR. Après Massive Attack, en 2011, c’est au tour du rappeur Mos Def d’introduire, lors du vernissage de l’exposition : DECADE. Portrait d’une génération, le travail de l’artiste de 32 ans, connu pour ses portraits photographiques XXL collés sur les murs des villes du monde entier. Un argument de poids !
 
Mais pénétrons plutôt l’hôtel particulier de la rue de Turenne pour s’immerger dans l’univers singulier du lauréat du Ted Prize 2011 qui souhaite : « utiliser l’art pour transformer le monde ». Cette 5e exposition à la Galerie Perrotin, est l’occasion pour JR de revenir sur les dix dernières années de son parcours artistique.
 

JR « 28 Millimètres, Portrait d'une génération, B11, destruction #5, Montfermeil, France, 2013 » Color photograph, mat plexiglas, aluminum, wood 179 x 134 cm ©JR-ART.NET Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

JR.
“28 Millimètres, Portrait d’une génération, B11,
destruction #5, Montfermeil, France, 2013″
Color photograph, mat plexiglas, aluminum,
wood
179 x 134 cm
©JR-ART.NET
Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

Dès la première salle, les projections au sol nous plongent dans la cité des Bosquets, à Clichy-Montfermeil, où JR a grandi. Cette première œuvre évoque les émeutes urbaines de 2005 qui ont défrayées la chronique et dont les images ont fait le tour du monde.

L’embrasement des banlieues parisiennes est également le sujet du film de 17 mn produit et réalisé par JR, dix ans après les événements. Il s’agit d’une fiction inspirée du réel, fruit d’une riche collaboration avec le danseur Lil’ Buck, la danseuse classique Lauren Lovette et les danseurs de l’Opéra National de Paris (dans une chorégraphie crée pour le New York City Ballet, NYCB).
 
La danse fait ici le lien entre les différents thèmes abordés par l’artiste depuis dix ans, une façon poétique de dénoncer tout en apaisant les consciences.
Ce beau projet, dont la bande-son est signée Woodkid ou Pharrel Williams, est présenté en boucle dans l’espace Saint-Claude de la galerie Perrotin ainsi qu’à l’Espace 93 à Clichy-sous-Bois, les mercredis et vendredis du mois de septembre.
 

JR. "28 Millimètres, Portrait d'une génération, Les Bosquets, Jeté cambré, Montfermeil, France, 2014 " Encre sur bois / Ink on wood. 228 x 366 cm ©JR-ART.NET Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

JR. “28 Millimètres, Portrait d’une génération, Les
Bosquets, Jeté cambré, Montfermeil,
France, 2014 “
Encre sur bois / Ink on wood. 228 x 366 cm
©JR-ART.NET
Courtesy Galerie Perrotin

Le corps du ballet de l’Opéra National de Paris et les danseurs du NYCB traversent également l’œuvre photographique récente de JR, tout comme ses encres sur bois de petits et grands formats visibles dans l’exposition.

Une expo, un film mais aussi un livre… En effet, une monographie intitulée : JR: L’ART PEUT-IL CHANGER LE MONDE ? vient de paraître aux éditions Phaidon. Elle est accompagnée d’un roman graphique de Joseph Remnant et d’un essai de Nato Thompson. L’ensemble de 304 pages est disponible à la librairie de la Galerie Perrotin.
 
Rapprocher l’art et la vie, pari une fois de plus réussi par JR !
 

Infos pratiques

Galerie Perrotin

Adresse : 76, rue de Turenne, 75003 PARIS & 10 impasse Saint Claude, 75003 Paris (métro Saint-Sebastien – Froissart, ligne 8)

Heures d’ouverture : 11h – 19h du mardi au samedi

Entrée libre

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *