Germaine KRULL: A Photographer’s Journey

Portrait de Germaine Krull, Berlin, 1922. Hans Basler
Tirage gélatino–argentique, 15,9 x 22 cm.
Museum Folkwang, Essen. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen

This post is also available in: French

Until 27th September 2015 at the Jeu de Paume gallery

LThe Jeu de Paume gallery pays a splendid tribute to German photographer Germaine Krull (1897-1985). While the work of her contemporaries, Man Ray, Moholy-Nagy and Kertész, has widely been exposed, the free spirited, politically engaged woman photographer has long remained in the shadow. This is probably due to the fact that Krull has only been active in Europe – mainly in Paris – for twenty years, from 1920 to 1940. She then spent the last forty years of her life in Asia, which gradually deteriorated her links to the photography community.
 

Reportages and magazines

Germaine Krull, 'Rue Auber à Paris', 1928. Tirage gélatino- argentique. The Museum of Modern Art, New York. Thomas Walther Collection. Gift of David H. McAlpin, by exchange. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen.

Germaine Krull, ‘Rue Auber à Paris’, 1928. Tirage gélatino- argentique.
The Museum of Modern Art, New York. Thomas Walther Collection. Gift of David H. McAlpin, by exchange. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen.

« The real photographer is the witness of every day life, it’s the reporter »

 

In 1928 she published “Metal”, a portfolio of 64 pages displaying cranes, metal bridges and striking views of the Eiffel Tower, often taken in low-angle shots. She consequently accessed the world of modernist photography. The Director of VU magazine, Lucien Vogel, noticed her talent immediately, inviting Krull to join his team in the same year.

 

Autoportrait à l'Icarette, 1925. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen. Photo : © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI

Autoportrait à l’Icarette, 1925. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen. Photo : © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI

Germaine Krull emerged as a pioneer of photojournalism; her personal and spontaneous approach seduced a large audience. Thanks to her Icarette camera, 6 x 9 cm, enabling greater proximity to the subject, she realised atypical and intuitive pictures. Her favorite subject was Parisian popular culture, such as flea markets, carnivals or bar scenes. Between 1928 and 1934 she published more than 600 photographs in newspapers and magazines like Living Art and Jazz.

 

 

On the road

Cars, speed and machines fascinated Krull, and in Paris she frantically photographed the teeming traffic. After working on an advertising campaign for the Peugeot 201 she developed a strong interest for road trips and asked for one of the vehicles as payment. Whilst driving in that car, she developed some important photographic books including The Road Paris-Biarritz (1931) and The Road from Paris to the Mediterranean (1931). Travels and encounters were for Krull an inexhaustible source of inspiration.

 

Women

Colette by Germaine Krull

Colette by Germaine Krull

 

As a woman photographer, Krull took an interest in women artists such as the writer Colette, the singer Damia or Berthe Bovy who featured in La voix humaine by Jean Cocteau; they were models for many inspired photographs.

In 1930, she published an important portfolio on female nudes. Thanks to her particular framing and set-up of original scenes, she reinvented nude photography and developed a true aesthetic manifesto, carrying great evocative power.

Germaine Krull, 'Nus'. Tirage gélatino-argentique. Collection Dietmar Siegert. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen

Germaine Krull, ‘Nus’. Tirage gélatino-argentique.
Collection Dietmar Siegert.
© Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen

 

The Jeu de Paume exhibition presents the portrait of an icon of avant-garde photography. Germaine Krull was a true adventurer, who generously shared her poetic yet engaged vision of the surrounding world.

A beautiful exhibition!

Jeu de Paume

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EXPOSITION Germaine KRULL : Un destin de photographe

Portrait de Germaine Krull, Berlin, 1922. Hans Basler Tirage gélatino–argentique, 15,9 x 22 cm. Museum Folkwang, Essen. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen

This post is also available in: Anglais

Jusqu’au 27 septembre 2015 à la galerie du Jeu de Paume

La galerie du Jeu de Paume rend un bel hommage à la photographe allemande Germaine Krull (1897-1985). Tandis que l’œuvre de ses contemporains, Man Ray, Kertész ou Moholy-Nagy a été profusément exposée, celle de la femme-photographe engagée est longtemps restée dans l’ombre. Cela tient surement au fait que Germaine Krull n’a été active en Europe – et essentiellement à Paris – que pendant vingt ans, de 1920 à 1940. Elle a ensuite passé les quarante dernières années de sa vie en Asie et les liens avec le milieu de la photographie se sont alors peu à peu effacés.

 

Reportages et magazines

Germaine Krull, 'Rue Auber à Paris', 1928. Tirage gélatino- argentique. The Museum of Modern Art, New York. Thomas Walther Collection. Gift of David H. McAlpin, by exchange. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen.

Germaine Krull, ‘Rue Auber à Paris’, 1928. Tirage gélatino- argentique.
The Museum of Modern Art, New York. Thomas Walther Collection. Gift of David H. McAlpin, by exchange. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen.

« le vrai photographe, c’est le témoin de tous les jours, c’est le reporter »

 

Fin 1928, elle publie “Métal”, un portfolio de 64 planches où elle met en scène des grues, des ponts en métal ainsi que des points de vue saisissants de la tour Eiffel, souvent en contre-plongée. Elle entre ainsi dans le monde de la photographie moderniste. Le directeur du magazine VU, Lucien Vogel, la remarque aussitôt et lui propose de rejoindre son équipe la même année.

 

Autoportrait à l'Icarette, 1925. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen. Photo : © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI

Autoportrait à l’Icarette, 1925. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen. Photo : © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI

Pionnière du photoreportage, son approche personnelle et spontanée séduit. Grâce à son Icarette de format 6 x 9 cm, permettant une plus grande proximité avec le sujet, elle propose des images atypiques et intuitives, teintées d’une grande liberté. Elle privilégie les sujets issus de la culture populaire comme les marchés aux puces, les fêtes foraines ou les scènes de bars et publie, entre 1928 et 1934, plus de six-cents clichés dans des journaux et magazines, tels que l’Art vivant et Jazz.

 

 Sur la route

Adepte de mécanique et de vitesse, elle se passionne pour la route et le voyage en voiture, et photographie avec frénésie le trafic parisien. Après avoir travaillé sur la campagne publicitaire de la 201 de Peugeot, elle n’hésite pas à demander ce même modèle en paiement. C’est au volant du bolide qu’elle réalisera notamment les livres photographiques ‘La Route Paris-Biarritz’ (1931) et ‘La Route de Paris à la Méditerranée’ (1931). Les voyages et les rencontres sont pour elle une source d’inspiration intarissable.

 

Les femmes

Colette by Germaine Krull

Colette by Germaine Krull

 

En tant que femme-photographe, elle s’intéresse aux femmes-artistes. L’écrivain Colette, la chanteuse Damia ou encore Berthe Bovy qui joue ‘La voie humaine’ de Jean Cocteau seront le sujet de nombreux portraits.

En 1930, elle publie un superbe portfolio de nus féminins. Grâce à ses cadrages et ses mises en scènes originales, elle renouvèle la photographie de nus et dresse un véritable manifeste esthétique, au grand pouvoir évocateur.

Germaine Krull, 'Nus'. Tirage gélatino-argentique. Collection Dietmar Siegert. © Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen

Germaine Krull, ‘Nus’. Tirage gélatino-argentique.
Collection Dietmar Siegert.
© Estate Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen

 

L’exposition du Jeu de Paume peint le portrait d’une Icône de l’avant-garde photographique. En véritable aventurière, Germaine Krull nous offre une vision engagée mais poétique du monde qui l’entoure.
Une belle exposition !

 

Infos pratiques

Jeu de Paume

Adresse : 1, place de la Concorde, 75008 PARIS (métro Concorde, ligne 1, 8 et 12)

Heures d’ouverture : le mardi 11 h – 21 et du mercredi au dimanche 11h – 19h

Tarifs :  plein : 11,20 €, réduit  : 8,70 €

Share on Facebook28Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

2 Comments

  1. Delphino   •  

    Un destin d’artiste et de femme incroyable ! J’ai beaucoup aimé l’expo du Jeu de Paume.

  2. MarieM   •  

    La vie de Germaine Krull donne le vertige, comme ses photos !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *