EXHIBITION Markus LUPERTZ : A Retrospective

This post is also available in: French

At the Museum of Modern Art of the City of Paris, until 19th July 2015.

Markus LUPERTZ, 'Ohne Titel' (Sans titre), 2013. Photo Eric Simon.

Markus LUPERTZ, ‘Ohne Titel’ (Sans titre), 2013. Photo Eric Simon.

The Museum of Modern Art of Paris presents, in reverse order, the rich and varied career of painter and sculptor Markus Lüpertz (born in 1941). Lüpertz is a major artist of the German scene, who draws much of his inspiration from contemporary history, Greek mythology and the tension between representation and abstraction. His first French retrospective features the distinct periods of his work, which never fails to surprise.
 

Legends and Greek mythology

Markus LUPERTZ 'Odysseus II' (Ulysse II), 2014 - bronze peint. Photo Eric Simon.

Markus LUPERTZ ‘Odysseus II’ (Ulysse II), 2014 – bronze peint. Photo Eric Simon.

This exhibition brings together more than 140 iconic works. The most recent production of the artist is unveiled within the first room. A large sculpture in painted bronze, representing a man’s bust without arms, is greeting us with a blank stare. It is surrounded by monumental paintings from the “Arcadias” series, made between 2013 and 2015. Markuz Lüpertz breaks here with the classical representation of mythological scenes by integrating fragmented bodies and unusual objects like steel helmets, or shells. These scenes, which have no narrative framework, remind us of collages.

 

Towards abstraction

The large canvases from the series “Men Without Women. Parsifal ” are part of the largest body of work made by the artist between 1993 and 1997. This series refers to Perceval – the central character of the novel by Chrétien de Troyes – and its operatic treatment by Wagner. The portraits of Parsifal are characterized by a high degree of simplification. Represented frontally and without any volume, the facial components such as the eyes, nose and mouth are reduced to simple lines, approaching abstraction.

Markus LUPERTZ, 'Männer ohne Frauen. Parsifal' (Hommes sans Femmes, Parsifal), 1994. Tempera, huile sur toile. Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

Markus LUPERTZ, ‘Männer ohne Frauen. Parsifal’ (Hommes sans Femmes, Parsifal), 1994. Tempera, huile sur toile. Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

 

Dithyrambic paintings

After venturing through rooms dedicated to the series on war (1992) and German history (1970-1976), the viewer discovers the ‘dithyrambic’ paintings. For this series made between 1963 and 1976 Markus Lüpertz uses a technique called “tempera”, a process in which the pigments are bound by emulsion and used to apply paint in thin layers. Lüpertz simplifies forms and magnifies details that “drive the object towards its monumentality.” The figurative subjects from everyday life are removed from their conventional context and thus lose their original meaning, thereby taking on abstract qualities.

 

Markus LUPERTZ. 'Zelt 40 - dithyrambisch', 1965 © Galerie Michael Werner Cologne, Märkisch Wilmersdorf & New York/Lothar Schn. Expo Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

Markus LUPERTZ. ‘Zelt 40 – dithyrambisch’, 1965 © Galerie Michael Werner Cologne, Märkisch Wilmersdorf
& New York/Lothar Schnepf © ADAGP, Paris 2015. Expo Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

 
The Museum of Modern Art of Paris’ retrospective highlights the assured eye of an artist who continues to influence younger generations of artists. A show not to be missed!

Portrait de l’artiste Markus LUPERTZ dans son atelier, 2008. © Andreas Mühe © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Portrait de l’artiste Markus LUPERTZ dans son atelier,
2008. © Andreas Mühe
© ADAGP, Paris 2015

Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0

1 Comment

  1. Siegfried Schulz   •  

    Ein sehr guter Artikel, der Lust auf die Ausstellung macht. Luepertz ist ausserhalb Deutschlands relativ unbekannt, was sich hoffentlich aendern wird!

    Siegfried

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

EXPOSITION Markus LUPERTZ : Une rétrospective

This post is also available in: Anglais

Au Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris – MAM, Paris – jusqu’au 19 juillet 2015

Markus LUPERTZ, 'Ohne Titel' (Sans titre), 2013. Photo Eric Simon.

Markus LUPERTZ, ‘Ohne Titel’ (Sans titre), 2013. Photo Eric Simon.

Le Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris retrace, à rebours, le parcours riche et varié du peintre et sculpteur Markus Lüpertz, né en 1941. Artiste majeur de la scène allemande, il puise une grande partie de son inspiration dans l’histoire contemporaine, la mythologie grecque et l’exploration du rapport entre figuration et abstraction. Cette première rétrospective française met en lumière les différentes périodes d’une œuvre forte, toujours surprenante.

Légendes et mythologies grecques

Markus LUPERTZ 'Odysseus II' (Ulysse II), 2014 - bronze peint. Photo Eric Simon.

Markus LUPERTZ ‘Odysseus II’ (Ulysse II), 2014 – bronze peint. Photo Eric Simon.

L’exposition rassemble plus de 140 œuvres emblématiques. La plus récente production de l’artiste est révélée dans la première salle. Un immense buste d’homme en bronze peint, sans bras, le regard vide nous accueille. Il est entouré de peintures monumentales issues de la série « Arcadies », réalisée entre 2013 et 2015. Markuz Lüpertz rompt ici avec la représentation classique des scènes mythologiques en intégrant des corps fragmentés et des objets insolites comme des casques d’acier. Ces mises en scènes picturales, qui n’ont plus aucun rapport narratif, font penser à des collages.

 

Vers l’abstraction

Les immenses toiles de la série « Hommes sans femmes. Parsifal » réalisées dans des techniques variées entre 1993 et 1997 constituent un des ensemble les plus conséquents de la création de l’artiste. Cette série fait référence à Perceval, personnage central du roman de Chrétien de Troyes, ainsi qu’à l’interprétation faite par Wagner pour son opéra. Les portraits de Parsifal sont caractérisés par une grande stylisation. Représentés frontalement et sans volume, les visages sont réduits aux seules indications – par de simples traits – des yeux, du nez et de la bouche. Ces représentations se rapprochent nettement de l’abstraction.

Markus LUPERTZ, 'Männer ohne Frauen. Parsifal' (Hommes sans Femmes, Parsifal), 1994. Tempera, huile sur toile. Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

Markus LUPERTZ, ‘Männer ohne Frauen. Parsifal’ (Hommes sans Femmes, Parsifal), 1994. Tempera, huile sur toile. Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

 

Les Dithyrambes

Après avoir parcouru les salles dédiées à la série sur la guerre (1992), ou celles sur les motifs allemands (1970-1976), les peintures dithyrambiques nous interpellent. Pour cette série réalisée entre 1963 et 1976, Markus Lüpertz utilise la technique dite de « détrempe ». Ce procédé, lors duquel les pigments sont liés par émulsion, permet d’appliquer la peinture en fine couche. Lüpertz se livre ici à une simplification des formes et au grossissement des détails « poussant l’objet vers sa monumentalité ». Les éléments figuratifs, issus de la vie quotidienne, sont isolés de leur contexte et perdent ainsi leur signification originale devenant des motifs abstraits.

 

Markus LUPERTZ. 'Zelt 40 - dithyrambisch', 1965 © Galerie Michael Werner Cologne, Märkisch Wilmersdorf & New York/Lothar Schn. Expo Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

Markus LUPERTZ. ‘Zelt 40 – dithyrambisch’, 1965 © Galerie Michael Werner Cologne, Märkisch Wilmersdorf
& New York/Lothar Schnepf © ADAGP, Paris 2015. Expo Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris 2015.

La rétrospective du Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris met en avant le regard sûr d’un artiste qui continue aujourd’hui à influencer les jeunes générations de peintres. Une expo incontournable !

Portrait de l’artiste Markus LUPERTZ dans son atelier, 2008. © Andreas Mühe © ADAGP, Paris 2015

Portrait de l’artiste Markus LUPERTZ dans son atelier,
2008. © Andreas Mühe
© ADAGP, Paris 2015

Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris

Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest2Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn1

1 Comment

  1. Marie   •  

    Markus Lupertz est un peintre allemand de la même trempe que Baselitz, A.R Penck ou Kiefer mais il n’est, pour le moment, pas aussi connu en France. La rétrospective du MAM est un petit bijou !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *